Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following links provide interactive tools to help student complete research assignments
Library Skills Modules This link opens in a new window
From Kent State University, online tutorials for developing basic information literacy skills
FALL SEMESTER HOURS
August 25 - December 18
Monday - Thursday: 7:45am to 8:00pm
Friday: 7:45am to 5:00pm
Saturday and Sunday: CLOSED
Oct. 13 at 5pm (Fall Break)
Nov. 11 (Veterans Day)
Nov. 23 at 5pm (Thanksgiving)
Nov. 24 & 25 (Thanksgiving)
Research proposal assignment #2
Due by Wednesday, February 26th at midnight BY EMAIL
1. What is your specific research question?
2. What is your dependent variable? Independent variables?
3. List the 6 peer-reviewed, academic journal articles you will use for the literature review section of your research proposal. You must list your references in APA format (see http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Portal to Web of Science, the renowned citation database, and other high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text for hundreds of arts, humanities, and social sciences journals. The library currently has access to collections 7 and 8.
Anthropology and Sociology Databases
Ageline (1978 - Current) This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of age and age-related issues. Updated 3 times per year.
The following databases are licensed content and available to anyone while on campus using campus-provided technology. If you are connecting from off-campus, consult the Off-Campus Access box to the left. Also note that some OhioLINK databases have a different URL for access from off-campus (click on the icon to authenticate, or use the VPN as described in the Off-Campus Access box). For a complete listing of databases, use our Database Finder. If you are having trouble finding an article and you know the title of the article and the journal title, try using our Journal Finder. Finally, if all else fails, you can submit an interlibrary loan request using Illiad to try to get your article from another library.
Combines the Anthropological Literature (from Harvard University) with the Anthropological Index (from the Royal Anthropological Institute). Gives extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Publishes critical reviews of primary research in 34 disciplines including Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia; includes citations for all articles published since 1992 in 100+ of the most important journals in Asian studies. NOTE: This resource is available for the Kent and Stark campuses only.
Bibliography of Native North Americans This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents covering native North American culture, history, and life.
Identifies all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos; it also includes the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, Central American immigrants.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Offers scholarly evaluations of books, journal articles and other resources in the field of Latin American studies.
LGBT Life This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on LGBT issues.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains entries from over 100 major discipline-related dictionaries and other publications from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes the sciences, foreign languages, art and architecture, politics, business, literature and more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Features more than 1,300,000 records from a sociology-specific thesaurus. Abstracts are included for more than 620 journals dating back to 1895. Indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included, and cited references are also provided. All subdisciplines of sociology are covered.
Users can create statistical reports and map census data for comparison.
Chat with a KSU Librarian