Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communication Studies Databases
The ComAbstracts database provides comprehensive coverage and access to the primary professional literature of the field of communication studies.
Communication Abstracts (1977 - Current)
Published by Sage, Communication Abstracts provides thorough coverage of the literature of communication studies, including interpersonal, mass, organizational, and small group communication; journalism; and public relations. Indexes more than 100 journals, including core communication studies titles. Updated bimonthly.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media.
International Encyclopedia of Communication (2008 - Current)
A comprehensive reference source written by established experts and researchers. Covers broad subject areas of media (media economy; media effects, media law and policy, media production, media systems); communication (educational, intercultural, international, interpersonal, organizational, political, visual); theory and philosophy; feminist and gender studies; research methods; rhetorical studies; public relations and advertising; journalism; and others.
Complete one-stop source for information on social issues, providing the pros and cons for topical issues.
SRDS Media Solutions
Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) provides detailed ad rates, editorial or programming content, circulation, and other basic information for a variety of advertising media, including radio, television, newspapers, and consumer magazines. Includes Business Media Advertising Source, Consumer Media Advertising Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source, TV & Cable Source, Print Media Production Source, and Local Market Audience Analyst.
Society of Professional Journalists
The Society of Professional Journalists is dedicated to the perpetuation of a free press as the cornerstone of our nation and our liberty.
To ensure that the concept of self-government outlined by the U.S. Constitution remains a reality into future centuries, the American people must be well informed in order to make decisions regarding their lives, and their local and national communities.
It is the role of journalists to provide this information in an accurate, comprehensive, timely and understandable manner.
It is the mission of the Society of Professional Journalists:
— To promote this flow of information.
— To maintain constant vigilance in protection of the First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and of the press.
— To stimulate high standards and ethical behavior in the practice of journalism.
— To foster excellence among journalists.
— To inspire successive generations of talented individuals to become dedicated journalists.
— To encourage diversity in journalism.
— To be the pre-eminent, broad-based membership organization for journalists.
— To encourage a climate in which journalism can be practiced freely.
International Women’s Media Foundation - IWMF
We unleash the potential of women journalists as champions of press freedom to transform the global news media.
National Association of Black Journalists
NABJ is committed to the following:
Strengthening ties among black journalists;
Sensitizing all media to the importance of fairness in the workplace for black journalists;
Expanding job opportunities and recruiting activities for veteran, young and aspiring black journalists, while providing continued professional development and training;
Increasing the number of black journalists in management positions and encouraging black journalists to become entrepreneurs;
Fostering an exemplary group of professionals that honors excellence and outstanding achievements by black journalists, and outstanding achievement in the media industry as a whole, particularly when it comes to providing balanced coverage of the black community and society at large;
Working with high schools and colleges to identify and encourage black students to become journalists, and to diversify faculties and related curriculum; and
Providing informational and training services to the general public.
National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ)
The National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) is dedicated to the recognition and professional advancement of Hispanics in the news industry. Established in April 1984, NAHJ created a national voice and unified vision for all Hispanic journalists.
NAHJ is governed by an 18-member board of directors that consists of executive officers and regional directors who represent geographic areas of the United States and the Caribbean. The national office is located in Washington, D.C.
NAHJ has approximately 2,374 members, including working journalists, journalism students, other media-related professionals and journalism educators.
Handbook of Interpersonal Communication
Other Helpful Databases
Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years. The collections include: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Business Collection, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature. For Kent State University, students and faculty now have access to 381 JSTOR journals representing over 2 million articles.
MLA International Bibliography
Index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
National Communication Association
The National Communication Association advances Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media, and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific, and aesthetic inquiry.
NCA serves the scholars, teachers, and practitioners who are its members by enabling and supporting their professional interests in research and teaching. Dedicated to fostering and promoting free and ethical communication, NCA promotes the widespread appreciation of the importance of communication in public and private life, the application of competent communication to improve the quality of human life and relationships, and the use of knowledge about communication to solve human problems. NCA supports inclusiveness and diversity among our faculties, within our membership, in the workplace, and in the classroom; NCA supports and promotes policies that fairly encourage this diversity and inclusion.
Association for Women in Communication
AWC is a professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership and positioning its members at the forefront of the evolving communications era.
International Communication Association
Mission (last revised: 24 May 2019)
The International Communication Association aims to advance the scholarly study of human communication by encouraging and facilitating excellence in academic research worldwide. The purposes of the Association are to: (1) Provide an international forum to enable the development, conduct, and critical evaluation of communication research; (2) Facilitate inclusiveness and debate among scholars from diverse national and cultural backgrounds and from multi-disciplinary perspectives on communication-related issues; (3) Promote a wider public interest in, and visibility of, the theories, methods, findings and applications generated by research in communication and allied fields; and (4) Sustain a program of high quality scholarly publication and knowledge exchange that enhances the public good, including consideration of how our scholarship can be used in socially responsible ways, meet social needs, and be broadly accessible.
American Communication Association
The ACA is a not-for-profit virtual professional association with actual presence in the world of communication scholars and practitioners. ACA is committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research and criticism, and to offering a technologically supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate. While the Association is based in the United States, it is a virtual organization that welcomes participation from academics and professionals throughout the world.
International Association of Business Communicators
Our Aim as an Association
The International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) enables a global network of communicators working in diverse industries and disciplines to identify, share, and apply the world’s best communication practices. IABC is recognized as the professional association of choice for communicators who aspire to excel in their chosen fields.
Professional communicators at the heart of every organization.
To advance the profession, create connection and develop strategic communicators.
IABC pledges to:
Represent the global profession.
Foster a diverse community.
Focus on insights and results.
Honor our Code of Ethics.
We will achieve this by being open, contemporary and professional.
IABC is the only global association connecting me with the people and insights I need to drive business results.
Global Alliance for Public Relations and Communication Management
The mission of the Global Alliance is:
To unify the public relations profession
To raise its professional standards all over the world
To share knowledge for the benefit of our members
To be the global voice for public relations in the public interest
Ohio Communication Association
Theory. Research. Application.
The Ohio Communication Association (OCA) is one of the oldest state associations of communication in the country! As such we are dedicated to providing our members with opportunities to publish in our Journal, to present at our Annual Conference, and to engage on our Website.
PEW Research Center
The Center generates a foundation of facts that enriches the public dialogue and supports sound decision-making.
Our empirical research on a wide range of topics helps U.S. and international policymakers, civic leaders, educators and the public at large understand and address some of the world’s most challenging problems.
Our public opinion surveys allow the voice of the people to be heard, and our demographic, economic and political analyses provide context to understand how the world is changing.
We are nonprofit, nonpartisan and nonadvocacy. Our mission is to inform, not to prescribe. We believe that better information can build a better world.
“Fact-based information is the fuel democracies run on—the raw material from which societies identify problems and construct solutions.”
The Center’s founding documents