Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books.
A free, online encyclopedia that anyone can edit. Articles are usually written by anonymous authors who volunteer their "expertise" by collaboratively contributing content.
Art and Architecture Databases
The following databases are licensed content and available to anyone while on campus using campus-provided technology. If you are connecting from off-campus, consult the Off-Campus Access box to the left. Also note that some OhioLINK databases have a different URL for access from off-campus (click on the icon to authenticate, or use the VPN as described in the Off-Campus Access box). For a complete listing of databases, use our Database Finder. If you are having trouble finding an article and you know the title of the article and the journal title, try using our Journal Finder. Finally, if all else fails, you can submit an interlibrary loan request using Illiad to try to get your article from another library.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for many periodicals and books, as well as selective coverage for a number of other publications. An image collection is also available.
Covers 220 leading international art publications and can be searched by artist's name, work of art, title of publication or article, or subject.
Art Full Text [1984- ] This link opens in a new window
Covers over 400 leading international art publications and can be searched by artist's name, work of art, title of publication or article, or subject.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage prior to Art Full Text.
Contains information about modern art, photography and design from 1974-present.
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Images are available for use in presentations for educational or other noncommercial uses.
Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Off-campus access is also available.
Berg Fashion Library
Provides integrated text and images on world dress and fashion covering historic periods. The resource includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directories, reference works, and images.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present; it indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
Grove Art Online
Provides access to the entire text of The dictionary of art (1996) with constant additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
SCIPIO art and rare books sales catalogs
Includes descriptive records of art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions not yet held. Records include the dates and places of sales, the auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Portal to Web of Science, the renowned citation database, and other high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text for hundreds of arts, humanities, and social sciences journals. The library currently has access to collections 7 and 8.
Do a quick search for scholarly information on Google