Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intro. to Communication, Hupp: Finding Books & Articles

Chat with a KSU Librarian

Off-Campus Access

Choosing a resource

After you've chosen a topic, the next step is figuring out what type of information you need (Background? Statistics? Case Studies?) and what format, (Books? Articles? Websites?).

Books are good for comprehensive, established topics. For example, an overview of the coffee industry or fair trade movement. KentLINK and OhioLINK catalogs are linked below.

Articles are good for current and narrow topics. For example, the impact of fair trade on women in Ethiopia. Use the guides listed below to find databases on your topic.

News articles are good for current issues on a local and national issues.

TOPICS:

The history of the Russia.

How the Soviet Union was represented in British magazines during WWII.

Local businessman gives away free lunches.

Memoir of growing up in the rural Georgia.

Book Resources

Books are good for comprehensive, established topics. For example, an overview of the coffee industry or fair trade movement. KentLINK and OhioLINK catalogs are linked below.

  • KentLINK
    Search and request materials from any KSU library.
  • OhioLINK
    Search and request materials from institutions of higher education across the state of Ohio.

Article Resources

Articles are good for current and narrow topics. For example, the impact of fair trade on women in Ethiopia. Use the guides listed below to find databases on your topic.

A General Database is an excellent place to start your research.  This database covers many subjects (biology, history, health, etc.) and contains a variety of article formats - popular, scholarly and peer reviewed. 

Newspaper databases at contain regional, national, and historic papers.

Controversial Topic Databases are designed to help you with persuasive and controversial speeches and research papers.

Subject Databases cover just one subject per database.  They are excellent to use in addition to the above databases for your speech assignments.

Need Help? Just Ask.

Profile Photo
Melissa Bauer
Contact:
330-244-3320