Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Author Read-Alikes: E.L. James

Links to the Library

Other Guides

Other Read-Alikes we have created that you might find useful.

Resouces

Meet E.L. James

About this author

Erika Leonard (née Mitchell; born 7 March 1963), better known by the pen name E L James, is the British author of the bestselling erotic romance novels trilogy Fifty shades of GrayFifty Shades Darker, and Fifty Shades Freed. The combined novels have sold over 35 million copies in the United States, and over 70 million copies worldwide, setting the record as the fastest selling paperback of all time. In 2012, Time  magazine named her one of "The World's 100 Most Influential People." James initially wrote fan fiction under the pen name "Snowqueens Icedragon", with her most notable work being a Twilight fan fiction that eventually developed into Fifty shades of Gray and subsequent film adaptation. James has spoken of her shock at the success of the book. "The explosion of interest has taken me completely by surprise" she said. James has described the Fifty Shades trilogy as "my midlife crisis, writ large. All my fantasies in there, and that's it." She did not start to write until January 2009, as she revealed while still active on fanfiction.net as Snowqueen's Icedragon: "I started writing in January 2009 after I finished the Twilight saga, and I haven't stopped since. I discovered Fan Fiction in August 2009. Since then I have written my two fics and plan on doing at least one more. After that... who knows?" In August 2013, sales of the trilogy saw James top the Forbes" list of the highest-earning authors with earnings of $95m which included $5m for the film rights to Fifty Shades of Grey.

 

Popular Read-Alikes That You May Enjoy

Websites