Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information on Databases
Use the following icons to determine if you have access to online resources. All online resources are available in the Stark Campus Library.
OhioLINK Resource - These resources are available through the OhioLINK authentication.
Kent State Resource - Only available from off-campus for Kent State University Students.
Classical Music Library
An online streaming music service featuring works from the Medieval era through the present. Recordings can be located by browsing lists or by using either the basic or advanced search engines, and users can create and save playlists of their favorite music. Note: Off-campus access to Classical Music Library requires Internet Explorer.
Contemporary World Music
Contains streaming music from performers and cultures from around the world, with music styles ranging from raggae to Indian classical.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A database including research for music created throughout the world in over 9,000 pages from over 700 experts.
Contains the largest online library of International Phonetic Alphabet translations of thousands of song texts.
OhioLINK Music Center
Provides OhioLINK users access to tens of thousands of musical works in a variety of genre.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Music
Basic scholarly reference regarding research in musicology, pedagogy, dance, technology, as well as research in new areas in the field of music.
Oxford Music Online
Includes full-text of the the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (4th ed.), Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music (2002 revision) and the Oxford Dictionary of Music (2nd ed. rev.).
Oxford Reference Online
Full text of over 100 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on music. [Note: Six simultaneous users limit per institution.]
Can't find the full-text?