Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information on Databases
Use the following icons to determine if you have access to online resources. All online resources are available in the Stark Campus Library.
OhioLINK Resource - These resources are available through the OhioLINK authentication.
Kent State Resource - Only available from off-campus for Kent State University Students.
Political Science Databases
Provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications
Congress and the Nation Online (1945 - 2004)
Congress and the Nation has been the definitive resource for researchers studying the actions of the U.S. Congress. The online edition series combines the same content from the print volumes with a number of electronic features and functionality to make navigating this immense amount of content a smooth experience.
Yearly review of major events and legislation related to the U.S. Congress starting in 1946.
CQ Historic Documents Series Online (1972 - Current)
Includes the full-text of each of the annual volumes of the CQ Historic Documents set. The volume for each year includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of that year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
CQ Researcher (1923 - Current)
Offers a balanced overview of contemporary political and social issues. Each report includes background information, both sides of the debate surrounding the issue, and suggested resources to consult for further information.
CQ Weekly (1983 - Current)
This weekly publication from Congressional Quarterly (CQ) offers expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and more.
CQ's Politics in America Online (1999 - Current)
CQ Politics in America Series offers comprehensive, nonpartisan commentary and data about members of Congress. Detailed member profiles provide concise insight and candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations at home and on the Hill.
International Political Science Abstracts
Index and abstracts of articles from political science journals.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
This database offers information on security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. ISCTRC provides an Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
LexisNexis Country Profiles
Contains the full-text of newspapers for the past 20 years, federal and state case law and legislative materials, law reviews, company news and financial information, medical and health information, general information sources and much more. Updates and coverage vary by section.
Political Handbook of the World
Political Handbook of the World provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. Users can quickly access content from the Handbook by navigating a virtual table of contents, performing a keyword search, or browsing for country profiles.
Political Science Complete
Political Science Complete provides full text coverage for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Public Affairs Index
Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. Includes information from scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works.
Vital Statistics on The Presidency
Comprehensive statistical information related to the U.S. presidency, starting from 1789.
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
This resource contains entries exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world.
Can't find the full-text?