Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - Country Profiles
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business publications.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions.
Includes all publications of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Results can be sorted by subject, country, or both.
Websites - Country Profiles
BBC Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for more than 265 world entities.
Funded in part by the U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant, globalEDGE delivers a comprehensive research tool for academics, students and businesspeople. Connect with over 47,000 people using the gE Network while tapping into a directory of over 5000 quality resources. globalEDGE provides tools and resources to efficiently research nearly any international business question you may have.
Doing Business (World Bank Group)
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
The Global Competitiveness Report 2015-2016
The Global Competitiveness Report 2015-2016 assesses the
competitiveness landscape of 140 economies, providing insight
into the drivers of their productivity and prosperity.
The Report series remains the most comprehensive assessment
of national competitiveness worldwide.
ITC Country Profiles
Use the right hand tab labelled "Countries / Territories" on the homepage of the International Trace Centre to search for countries and regions of the world. Use the tabs on each country's profile to explore information on trade performance, strategy, and policy, as well as additional resources
Online Books - Country Profiles
Sources on Globalization
IMF World Economic Outlook
Explore the International Monetary Fund's biannual survey on global economic trends and changes. Review a quick summary or the full reports.
IMF Regional Economic Outlook
Similiar to the IMF World Economic Outlook, but focuses on countries and regions of the world.