Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Index to articles from over 12,000 journals
Book Review Digest Plus, Book Review Digest Retro
Book reviews dating back to the early 20th century.
Books in Print
Provides complete bibliographic information for more than 7.5 million in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming book, e-book, audio, and video titles. Includes some tables of contents, annotations, publisher reviews, cover images, and author biographies.
Dissertations and Theses A&I
Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe.
Provides summaries and book reviews (from Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Booklist, etc.) for works of fiction.
Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text™ includes access to articles from over 300 academic journals in the humanities dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
ISI Web of Knowledge
Portal to Web of Science, the renowned citation database, and other high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities
MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines)
Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
Provides summaries and book reviews (from Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Booklist, etc.) for non-fiction works.
Complete one-stop source for information on social issues, providing the pros and cons for topical issues.
Periodicals Archive Online
Contains the full text for hundreds of arts, humanities, and social sciences journals. The library currently has access to collections 7 and 8.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
U.S. and Canadian publishing operations. Includes contact information and descriptions of publishers and distributors of books, classroom materials, prints, reports, and databases.
Readers' Guide Full text, Readers' Guide Retro
Provides indexing to articles in popular journals dating back to the early 1880s and full text from the early 1990s.
SAGE Research Methods Online
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research tool supported by a newly devised taxonomy that links content and methods terms. It provides the most comprehensive picture available today of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences. (Available to Kent State authorized users).
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Contains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications.