Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

First Year Experience (FYE): Resources

A useful guide to help new students navigate through their First Year Experience.

HOW TO FIND ACADEMIC SOURCES AT KENT STATE UNIVERSITY STARK CAMPUS

Library Hours

 

SPRING 2021 LIBRARY HOURS

Jan. 17 - May 12

Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: Closed

RESEARCH TIPS

  • Start very broad in your search and narrow as you go.
  • Use Keyword searches to get the most results.
  •  

FINDING ACADEMIC SOURCES

There are many different sources that can be used for academic research.  Books, articles, maps, interviews, videos, just to name a few.  Kent Stark has many ways to access scholarly sources.  This guide will show you how to use multiple sources to find books, scholarly articles, and many other academic sources.

KentLINK

KentLINK is Kent State University's electronic book catalog.  KentLINK is a list of all books owned by Kent State and its regional campuses.  

 

KentLINK

 

OhioLINK

OhioLINK is similar to KentLINK on a much larger scale.  OhioLINK is a consortium of Ohio's college and university libraries.  Searching OhioLINK allows you to see and request what other Ohio college and university libraries have.

 

OhioLINK

 

Databases

Databases are collections of materials that are easy to find and easy to retrieve.  Over 380 databases are available for your research.  Databases can be used to find many valid academic sources, specifically scholarly journal articles.  There are two types of databases - subject and general.  A subject database is used to find information on a specific topic, medicine, law, education, biology, etc.  Access Medicine is a subject specific database.  A general database covers many academic subjects at one time.  A general database could have information on medicine, law, education, and biology.    Academic Search Complete is a general database.

 

A-Z Databases

 

Discovery Layer

The Discovery Layer combines a search using KentLINK, OhioLINK, and most of our databases.  It is a very broad search that is capable of returning thousands of results. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 

Ready Reference

WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES OF USING DATABASES OVER GOOGLE?

  • Databases are geared for academic research.